He Was Wounded for Our Transgressions

 There are six varieties of wounds a person can suffer.

Abrasive wound: the skin is scraped off. This can result from stumbling, by carrying a rough object, or by a glancing blow. “And he bearing his cross went forth into a place called the place of a skull …” (John 19:17).

Confused wound: caused by a heavy blow. “And they smote him on the head with a reed …” (Mark 15:19).

Incised wound: produced by a knife, spear, or other sharp instrument. “Then Pilate therefore took Jesus, and scourged him” (John 19:1).

Lacerated wound: the flesh is torn open, leaving jagged edges. “I gave my back to the smiters, and my cheeks to them that plucked off the hair: I hid not my face from shame and spitting” (Isaiah 50:6).

Penetrating wound: the flesh is pierced through. “Except I shall see in his hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails . . . ” (John 20:25).

Punctured wound: made by a pointed or spiked instrument. “But one of the soldiers with a spear pierced his side …” (John 19:34).

Jesus suffered all these wounds. Yes, Jesus suffered real physical pain, but what Jesus suffered physically by itself does not give the power to the cross. Jesus also endured spiritual pain in “becoming sin for us” (2 Corinthians 5:21).

“But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.” —Isaiah 53:5

House to House, Volume 11, Number 6, Page 6



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s